Machar transfers Lou-Nuer territory to Jonglei state

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

South Sudan’s SPLM-IO and prominent opposition leader, Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon have transferred a Lou-Nuer territory to Jonglei  state saying the move is in compliance to the 1956 borders of Bor district.

Machar who is also the South Sudan’s First Vice-President designate in 2014 fractured the country into 21 states based on colonial districts as they stood on January 1st 1956. The transferred territory previous lies in Bieh state as per Machar’s 2014 division of the country.

In a executive order issued on Monday, Machar said he is acting in compliance with the borders of 1956 Bor District, Jonglei state, to transferred Panyang county to Jonglei state the order also divide the Cieng Jaak counties into four.

“In compliance to the 1956 boundaries of Bor District, currently Jonglei State, and Akobo District, currently Bieh State, I Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon, Chairman and Commander-in-Chief, SPLM/SPLA(IO), hereby order for reorganization of the three Jak Counties into four counties,” the order 001/1/2019 partly read.

The Chiengjaak will now consist of Pieri, Wuror, Padik counties all of which will fall under the jurisdiction of Bieh state. Panyang county, with its capital Pajut, will now be a Jonglei state territory.

The order is effective as of 7th January 2019.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *